Koign Amann

Since falling in love with Paul Hollywood of The Great British Bake Off, I’ve dreamt of making this recipe. And yesterday, I did it! Good first try I would say… Way too variable in size and far from being ready for GBBO but I’m proud of this ‘lamination.’

Couple tips: 

1) if you don’t want to set your fire alarm off, make sure to place a baking sheet (covered in aluminum foil) underneath the baking goodies. The butter tends to bubble over!

2) We in the states don’t have giant blocks of butter as readily. I used two of Whole Foods butter sticks placed next to each other which worked perfectly fine. (Yes it’s only 8 oz not 9 oz that the recipe calls for but my results were plenty flakey). 

Leave a Reply

